All virtual programs are listed in Eastern Standard Time (EST). Start times for all other continental US time zones are listed in the program description below the main image.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Virtual | Alternative Art Spaces in Southern California, presented with Intersect Palm Springs

February 8 @ 4:30 pm

Interior shot of Shoebox Projects
1:30pm PT/2:30pm MT/3:30pm CT/4:30pm EST

Please join us for a discussion about the development of alternative art spaces, specifically throughout the Southern California region. In this virtual discussion, we will hear from several professionals who have either founded or currently run alternative art spaces in the Southern California region, and will address questions like, what makes an art space “alternative?” How are these spaces addressing the underserved needs within the local art world? Our panelists will speak to how their respective organizations are implementing alternative methods in order to reach their goals and further their missions.

Panelists:

  • Jordan Karney Chaim, Art historian, writer, and independent curator
  • Kristine Schomaker, Director, Shoebox Projects
  • Joy Silverman, Former Executive Director, LACE; Board Member, Feminist Center for Creative Work

The discussion will be moderated by Liza Shapiro, Director & Co-founder of CURA.

This program is free and open to all. Please register via the below button to receive the Zoom information.

Register Here button

 

Accessibility: Please note that this program will include live closed captioning services. Please email programs@arttable.org to request any additional accommodations. 

This program is presented in partnership with Intersect Palm Springs. Complimentary VIP tickets are available for ArtTable members via the membership portal.

Intersect Palm Springs logo

Details

Date:
February 8
Time:
4:30 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:

Organizer

ArtTable National
Email:
programs@arttable.org

Venue

Zoom

Submit Your Ideas for Programming.

ArtTable welcomes and encourages program proposals from members and organizations.




View the Program Archive.

See ArtTable programs from 1980 through today.


ArtTable is a 501.c.3 organization and all programs are non-refundable. Should a program be postponed by ArtTable for any reason, the purchaser's ticket will be honored for the rescheduled program. Should a program be canceled and not rescheduled, the purchaser will receive credit to be used toward a future program. Please email programs@arttable.org with any questions.

error: This content is protected.