Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Virtual | A Brief History of Digital Art, Before and Beyond NFTs, with Dr. Tina Rivers Ryan

October 28 @ 12:00 pm

9am PT/ 10am MT / 11am CT / 12pm ET

If you’re curious to know more about the history of digital art before and beyond NFTs, join Dr. Tina Rivers Ryan as she offers a brief survey of digital art since the 1960s. Her talk will emphasize digital art’s major artists, practices, and themes, as well as the evolution of its relation to traditional arts institutions, such as galleries and museums.

NFTs have brought digital art into the spotlight, but they also have cast a long shadow over the decades-long history of digital art that preceded them. Even the artistic projects that were made with and about blockchain technologies just five years ago seem to have been erased in the rush to hail this “revolutionary” development in contemporary art.

Admission

  • ArtTable Circle Members– Free
  • All other ArtTable Members – $5
  • Non-Members – $15
  • Members may bring an additional guest for $5

Not an ArtTable member? Join today!

Can’t make the program at this time? Register anyway to receive a recording after!

 

 

Accessibility: This program will offer automatic closed captioning services. If you require additional accommodations, please email programs@arttable.org.


About Dr. Tina Rivers Ryan

Headshot of Tina Rivers RyanTina Rivers Ryan is an Assistant Curator of modern and contemporary art at the Albright-Knox Art Gallery in Buffalo, New York. Most recently, she co-curated the exhibition Difference Machines: Technology and Identity in Contemporary Art, which opened October 16th and runs through January 16th, 2022. An art historian by training, Ryan is a specialist in the history of art and technology since the 1960s and has written extensively on topics ranging from kinetic light environments to virtual reality. Over the past decade, her work has appeared in publications from museums such as The Met, the Walker Art Center, and Pirelli HangarBicocca. She also is an active critic for Artforum; her essay on NFTs, “Token Gesture,” appeared in its May 2020 issue. Ryan holds five degrees in art history, including a BA from Harvard and PhD from Columbia.

Thank you to Regan Lynn Larroque, Programs Committee Co-Chair for ArtTable’s New York Chapter, for organizing this program.


Images:

  1. Frame from Chris Torres’s Nyan Cat, 2011, GIF.
  2. Tina Rivers Ryan

Details

Date:
October 28
Time:
12:00 pm
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Zoom

Organizers

ArtTable National
ArtTable New York
error: This content is protected.