Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual | An Insider’s Tour of the Tel Aviv Museum of Art, with Mira Lapidot

October 26 @ 11:00 am - 12:00 pm

Facade of the Tel Aviv Museum of Art
8am PT/ 9am MT / 10am CT / 11am ET

Please join us for a virtual tour and discussion with Mira Lapidot, Chief Curator at the Tel Aviv Museum of Art. Mira will be joining us from Israel to talk about the museum’s history and architecture while giving us an insider’s look at its current collection and collecting practices. The discussion will be followed by a Q & A session.

Admission

  • ArtTable Circle Members– Free
  • All other ArtTable Members – $10
  • Non-Members – $15
  • Members may bring a guest for $5.

Not an ArtTable member? Join today!

 

 

Accessibility: This program will offer automatic closed captioning. If you require additional accommodations, please email programs@arttable.org.


About the Speaker

Mira Lapidot (born 1971) is the Chief Curator of the Tel Aviv Museum of Art as of March 2021. She is the artistic director of the TAMA’s exhibition program, working within the matrix of Israeli and international, Modern-Contemporay art, overseeing all aspects of exhibition-making and publications, directing the acquisitions agenda, and fostering relationships with artists. She arrived at the Tel Aviv Museum of Art after 22 years at the Israel Museum, Jerusalem, where she served as Chief Curator of the Arts, from 2012 to 2020. During her tenure, Lapidot directed eleven curatorial departments of the Fine Arts Wing, also leading the Wing’s exhibition and acquisitions program; she oversaw close to a hundred exhibitions and special exhibits, as well as dozens of Museum publications, and managed thirty curatorial staff members. Under her guardianship, the museum vastly expanded and enriched its collections. She has cultivated relationships with donors in Israel and around the world, led art-acquisition groups, managed the museum’s award process, and promoted collaborations with cultural institutions, universities, and international museums. As the acting curator of the Department of Contemporary Art (2016 to 2020), she has curated exhibitions by leading artists, notable among them Ai Weiwei: Maybe, Maybe Not (2017), which was attended by more than 400,000 visitors; Christian Boltanski: Lifetime (2018); and most recently, Julian Rosefeldt’s tour-de-force film installation Manifesto (2019). Lapidot holds a master’s degree in Art History and a bachelo’s degree in Natural Sciences and Art History from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Thank you to Michelle Perr, member of the ArtTable New York Chapter Program Committee for organizing this program.


Images:

  1. Facade of the Tel Aviv Museum of Art

Details

Date:
October 26
Time:
11:00 am - 12:00 pm
Event Category:

Venue

Zoom

Organizer

ArtTable New York
Phone:
212 343 1735 Ext. 13
Email:
programs@arttable.org
error: This content is protected.